A Pencil In the Woods For Mary Oliver


A Path in the Woods

The word is out that our Beloved Friend and Poet Mary Oliver is seriously ill.

I  heard her say, maybe it was on NPR, that she hides pencils in the woods so if she has an idea for a poem she has something to write with right then and there.

It might feel good for us to take up those pencils and write a note about what she means to us here and now. Maybe share a favorite line or poem if you like.

I Want to say: Mary Oliver is often a companion in my mind when I walk in the woods and some times I come home with a poem about a willow or black berries or a friendly dog.

Favorite line that echos truth for me has to do with the question of

“What will you do with your one wild and precious life?”

Feel free to use the comment box and if you like check “notify me by email” so we may know each others hearts.

Blessing all.

Carol

2 thoughts on “A Pencil In the Woods For Mary Oliver

I would love to hear what you have to say.

